Government Work: What’s In It For Me?

It felt surreal the day I took the oath of office exactly one year ago. Not long after, I landed back to the planet black and blue…

Working in the public sphere makes me more grounded, forever grateful for the values impressed on me by my former company; I get to use them in full swing. Enveloped in a single dictum, I hold onto it all year round like a soldier carrying her rucksack:
“In the name of service, set aside personal comfort and issues, bear the good, the bad, and the ugly, in order to deliver unrestricted performance free of any bias and partiality.”

The awful things can be disheartening, but I don’t wanna add pessimism on my plate. I give it the benefit of the doubt, that there is hope for our justice system, the government, and in this nation.
I can’t change the world for I only have myself to control. But I have an awareness of my influence as an ordinary citizen, and that means the change I wish to happen starts with myself. This will keep me afloat in this sinking world, and hopefully inspire others to do the same.

I still have a very long way to go, and the question of should I stay or should I go?
But instead of looking back and forward, I want to relish the present. Someday I’d like to remember this place and time as splendid —a journey worth telling, and maybe, just maybe, where I met the work of a lifetime.

Photo: Vista Residences

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started